Social Media for Direct Selling Speaker and Author | (707) 939-5709

How to Disconnect Facebook Apps

One of the most common complaints people have about Facebook is its lack of privacy. It’s one thing to knowingly share personal details with people you “friend” who you hopefully know “in real life” but it seems that Facebook is frequently changing the way it handles your information, so much that there’s a general distrust of Facebook out there.

One of the biggest culprits is the fact that some unethical third-party applications have been known to use your personal information to spam, or worse. Now let me start saying that MANY many many 3rd party applications are safe and secure.And yes if you read the fine print you are allowing all of them to access much of your personal information including your posts, who your friends are, other apps you use etc. This is so that the application can function properly to provide you with a service or experience that will be useful or meaningful for you.

For legitimate applications to use on Facebook, check out some of the ones available on AppBistro – they seem to have a collection of quality apps without the spammy ones! However once in a while Facebook users see their friends playing a game or using an app that looks really cool or fun, and they click on it too. They give the app permission to access their information and then down the line they find that they are receiving more spam, or unwanted wall posts, or their friends are being messaged, etc. When that happens it is important to know how to remove the application – to disconnect it from your Facebook account.

This quick 2.5 minute video shows you how:

Go up to Account

Down to Privacy Settings

Down to Apps and Websites

Click Edit Your Settings

Next to the apps click Edit Settings

Either X them out to remove, or click on Edit to see your options.

I recommend getting rid of any apps that you are not currently using on a regular basis. Why have another doorway into your Facebook account? You can always add it back in later by agreeing to Allow it once you want to use it – no big deal!

If you have any ‘horror stories’ to share about unethical Facebook applications, please share in the comments so we can beware!ob

Share this post:

4 Comments

  1. EvanR on February 8, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    The worst is that apps that can access this data will often store it offline. This is against the Facebook TOS for app developers but lots of companies do it anyway. So once you’ve connected an app, they download all your status updates, photos, relationship status, list of friends, schools, jobs, etc and store it in their own database.

    • Karen Clark
      Follow me on Twitter: mybizpresence
      on April 8, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      Ugh I guess you are right. So be careful which ones you allow!

  2. Phillip on March 27, 2014 at 7:48 am

    Not sure when this was written but once to allow an app to have access to your Facebook, even when you “delete” it they sill have access to your info.

    • Karen Clark
      Follow me on Twitter: mybizpresence
      on April 8, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      I think you are right so we should be extra careful. The thing is it is difficult to never use ANY (in my opinion) and knowing which are reputable is almost impossible. Even the legit app companies may still use your info for advertising etc.

Leave a Comment